What is the NTA?

  • The NTA is an independent, non-partisan organization focused on promoting good governance in Kenya through citizen empowerment, enhancing public service delivery and partnership building.
  • NTA is registered as a ‘society’ under section 10 of the Societies Act
  • The NTA represents all citizens as everyone pays taxes
  • Since 2006, the NTA has been implementing programmes focused on enhanced citizen demand for accountability through monitoring of the quality of public service delivery and the management of devolved funds.
  • It has achieved this through the development of social accountability tools, Citizen Report Cards (CRCs), civic awareness and citizen capacity-building and initiating partnerships with the government and non-state actors.
  • What are the objectives of the NTA?

  • To ensure that taxpayers' money is used to deliver quality services, such as health, education, agriculture, roads and water, etc., for all Kenyans.
  • To ensure transparent and citizen-responsive management of taxpayers’ money in devolved funds, such as the Constituency Bursary Fund, Constituency Development Fund, Free Primary Education Fund, etc.
  • To sensitize citizens on their rights and responsibilities as taxpayers.
  • Who manages the NTA?

  • The NTA is managed by a Governing Council of prominent civil society, faith based organizations, and private sector leaders. These include Kenya Private Sector Network (KPSN) – Chair, Center for Governance & Democracy (CGD) - Secretary, United Business Association (UBA) - Treasurer, Catholic Justice and Peace Commission (CJPC) - Member, African Woman and Child Feature Services (AWCFS) – Member, The Kenya Alliance of Residents Association (KARA) – Member, Transparency International-Kenya Chapter (TI-K) – Member, National Informal Sector Coalition (NISCOF) – Member, Supreme Council of Kenya Muslims (SUPKEM) – Member, Institute of Certified Public Accountants of Kenya (ICPAK) – Member, Private Sector Development Trust (PSD) – Member, Kenya Female Advisory Organization (KEFEADO) - Member).
  • The day to day operations of the NTA are managed by the NTA Secretariat comprising of the National Coordinator and assisted by Regional Offices Coordinator, Communications Officer and 2 Programme Officers. The NTA is also technically assisted by an advisor and a consultant.
  • Who funds NTA?

    The NTA is funded by a group of international and local donors.

    What is the NTA's relationship with the government?

    The NTA is fully independent of government; however, it is committed to working with the government to improve service delivery and the management of devolved funds.

    What is the structure of the NTA?

  • The head office of the NTA is in Nairobi. There are currently eight regional offices in each of the eight provinces/regions of Kenya (Nairobi, Central, Eastern, North Eastern, Western, Nyanza, Rift Valley and Coast).
  • Within the regions there are Constituency Monitoring Committees (CMCs), which consist of volunteer citizen representatives – one woman and one man – from each location or ward in each constituency.
  • National Taxpayers Association

    Diani Close, Off Diani Road. Off Ole Dume Road

    P.O. Box 4037-00506 Nairobi, Kenya

    Phone: +254-701-946557 / +254-734-500940

    E-mail: admin@nta.or.ke


    Photo Gallery


    Sign up for our newsletter to receive periodic updates about everything that's going on at NTA. We will not spam you or share your email with anyone.

    Who's Online

    We have 6 guests and no members online